14. 6.– 30. 8. 15
Group Exhibition / All venues

"Fire and forget" comes from military jargon, and is a term for weapons systems that are no longer used in direct combat with an enemy but are launched from a safe distance. The exhibition FIRE AND FORGET. ON VIOLENCE takes the military expression as the starting point for an examination of the conventional ideas about war and force. It is oriented towards the most visible agent of violence: weapons.

FIRE AND FORGET. ON VIOLENCE applies the means of contemporary art to address the long-term effects of these new weapons on the human psyche.The loss of a direct, physical confrontation and the danger for one's own life had created, separates the violent situation itself from affects like reluctance for killing or overreaction, sympathy or hate. What may this mean for the arguments and evidence of political action? Which meaning does this context of the story receive: the memory and forgetting of an outburst, escalation or the prevention of violence? and which interest does art have in all this?

Curated by Ellen Blumenstein and Daniel Tyradellis

With works by Marina Abramović and Ulay; Ron Amir; Julius von Bismarck; Roy Brand, Ori Scialom and Keren Yeala Golan; James Bridle; Luis Camnitzer; Mircea Cantor; Jota Castro; Chto Delat; Marcelo Cidade; Jem Cohen; Martin Dammann; Öyvind Fahlström; Harun Farocki; Daniil Galkin; Rudolf Herz; Damien Hirst; Clara Ianni; Emily Jacir; Hunter Jonakin; Joachim Koester; Korpys/Löffler; Barbara Kruger; Armin Linke; Robert Longo; Jazmín López; Kris Martin; Ana Mendieta; Michael Müller; Timo Nasseri; NEOZOON; Katja Novitskova; Jon Rafman; Pipilotti Rist; Robbert&Frank Frank&Robbert; André Robillard; Julian Röder; Henning Rogge; Martha Rosler; Hrair Sarkissian; Santiago Sierra; Timur Si-Qin; Tal R; Javier Téllez; Sharif Waked; Gillian Wearing; He Xiangyu; Amir Yatziv; Ala Younis.

Every Thursday at 5 pm, a DIALOGICAL TOUR through the exhibition takes place. The tour is included in the exhibition ticket.

The series of talks ON VIOLENCE with protagonists from the field of theater, film, and music focusses on strategies concerned with violence in our society, or more specifically, with violent experiences' processing. The guests discuss their own exposure to violence, as well as violence's socio-cultural transformations and its coding in each one of their fields. All events are moderated by Tina Mendelsohn, who provides continuity between the three evenings, and conveys and accumulates the knowledge from each conversation to the next one.

Thursday, 23.7.15, 20 h, 3 € (German)

Thursday, 20.8.15, 20 h, 3 € (German)

Thursday, 27.8.15, 20 h, 3 € (German)

The publication FRIENDLY FIRE & FORGET accompanying the exhibition illuminates the theme from a literary perspective, and collects texts produced on the occasion by German and international authors. With texts by Petra Coronato, Ann Cotten, Ulrike Draesner, Alexander Heinich, Andreas Leopold Hofbauer, Schorsch Kamerun, Vladimir Kaminer, Hartmut Lange, Francis Nenik, Kathrin Passig, Christoph Peters, Annika Reich, Oliver Rohe, Mark von Schlegell, and Frank Witzel.

FIRE AND FORGET. ON VIOLENCE is funded by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation).
With thanks for the financial support of: KW Friends e. V. as well as Rivka Saker, the collector Uli Sigg, Mr. Xue, Peng Pei-Cheng, Outset Contemporary Art Fund, Contemporary Fine Arts Berlin, KOW Berlin.
The publication and the event- and educational program is funded by the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb (German Federal Agency for Civic Education).

Mircea Cantor, SHOOTING, 2005, Courtesy the artist and Dvir Gallery,
© Mircea Cantor

James Bridle, DRONE SHADOW, ongoing project, realization following a drone shadow,
installation view, photo: Timo Ohler

Joachim Koester , THE PLACE OF DEAD ROADS, 2013, production still ,
courtesy the artist and Jan Mot, Brussels

FIRE AND FORGET.
ON VIOLENCE
14. 6.– 30. 8. 15
Gruppenausstellung / Alle Orte

„Fire and Forget" ist ein aus dem Militärjargon stammender Begriff für Waffensysteme, die aus gefahrloser Distanz zum Feind ausgelöst werden. Die Ausstellung FIRE AND FORGET. ON VIOLENCE nimmt den militärischen Ausdruck zum Ausgangspunkt für eine Überprüfung geläufiger Vorstellungen von Krieg und Gewalt. Hierzu orientiert sie sich an den sichtbarsten Agenten von Gewalt: den Waffen.

Mit den Mitteln der zeitgenössischen Kunst widmet sich FIRE AND FORGET. ON VIOLENCE den Auswirkungen, die der Einsatz von Waffen langfristig auf die menschliche Psyche hat. So werden mit dem Verlust der unmittelbaren körperlichen Konfrontation und der damit verbundenen Gefahr für das eigene Leben Affekte wie Tötungshemmung oder Überreaktion, Mitgefühl oder Hass von der konkreten Situation abgespalten. Was bedeutet das für die Argumente und Evidenzen politischen Handelns? Welche Bedeutung kommt in diesem Zusammenhang der Geschichte, dem Erinnern und Vergessen für den Ausbruch, die Eskalation oder die Verhinderung von Gewalt zu? Welchen Anteil hat die Kunst daran?

Kuratiert von Ellen Blumenstein und Daniel Tyradellis


Mit Arbeiten von Marina Abramović und Ulay; Ron Amir; Julius von Bismarck; Roy Brand, Ori Scialom und Keren Yeala Golan; James Bridle; Luis Camnitzer; Mircea Cantor; Jota Castro; Chto Delat; Marcelo Cidade; Jem Cohen; Martin Dammann; Öyvind Fahlström; Harun Farocki; Daniil Galkin; Rudolf Herz; Damien Hirst; Clara Ianni; Emily Jacir; Hunter Jonakin; Joachim Koester; Korpys/Löffler; Barbara Kruger; Armin Linke; Robert Longo; Jazmín López; Kris Martin; Ana Mendieta; Michael Müller; Timo Nasseri; NEOZOON; Katja Novitskova; Jon Rafman; Pipilotti Rist; Robbert&Frank Frank&Robbert; André Robillard; Julian Röder; Henning Rogge; Martha Rosler; Hrair Sarkissian; Santiago Sierra; Timur Si-Qin; Tal R; Javier Téllez; Sharif Waked; Gillian Wearing; He Xiangyu; Amir Yatziv; Ala Younis.

Jeden Donnerstag finden um 17 Uhr DIALOGISCHE FÜHRUNGEN statt. Die Führung ist im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen.

Die Gesprächsreihe ON VIOLENCE mit ProtagonistInnen aus den Bereichen Theater, Film und Musik fokussiert die Strategien, die in unserer Gesellschaft zur Hegung von Gewalt beziehungsweise zur Verarbeitung von Gewalterfahrungen zur Verfügung stehen. Die Gäste sprechen über ihren eigenen Umgang mit Gewalt und ihrer kulturellen/sozialen Umformung wie ihrer Kodierung im eigenen Feld. Alle Veranstaltungen werden moderiert von Tina Mendelsohn, die die Kontinuität zwischen den drei Abenden herstellt und das Wissen, das in jedem Gespräch entsteht, in die folgenden weiterträgt.

Donnerstag, 23.7.15, 20 h, 3 € (deutsch)
ON VIOLENCE MIT ANTONIA BAUM UND MARCUS STAIGER

Donnerstag, 20.8.15, 20 h, 3 € (deutsch)
ON VIOLENCE MIT ROSA VON PRAUNHEIM

Donnerstag, 27.8.15, 20 h, 3 € (deutsch)
ON VIOLENCE MIT ULRICH MATTHES

Die ausstellungsbegleitende Publikation FRIENDLY FIRE & FORGET beleuchtet das Thema aus literarischer Perspektive und versammelt für diesen Anlass entstandene Texte deutscher und internationaler Autorinnen und Autoren. Mit Texten von Petra Coronato, Ann Cotten, Ulrike Draesner, Alexander Heinrich, Andreas Leopold Hofbauer, Schorsch Kamerun, Vladimir Kaminer, Hartmut Lange, Francis Nenik, Kathrin Passig, Christoph Peters, Annika Reich, Oliver Rohe, Mark von Schlegell und Frank Witzel.


FIRE AND FORGET. ON VIOLENCE wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes.
Wir danken für die finanzielle Unterstützung: KW Freunde e. V. sowie Rivka Saker, dem Sammler Uli Sigg, Mr. Xue, Peng Pei-Cheng, Outset Contemporary Art Fund, Contemporary Fine Arts Berlin, KOW Berlin.
Die Publikation sowie das Vermittlungs- und Veranstaltungsprogramm werden gefördert durch die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb.

Mircea Cantor, SHOOTING, 2005, Courtesy der Künstler und Dvir Gallery,
© Mircea Cantor

James Bridle, DRONE SHADOW, laufendes Projekt, Realisierung nach Vorlage
eines Drohnenschattens, Installationsansicht, Foto: Timo Ohler

Joachim Koester , THE PLACE OF DEAD ROADS, 2013, Produktionsstill ,
courtesy der Künstler und Jan Mot, Brüssel