Kate Cooper
RIGGED
Schering Stiftung Art Award
14. 9. 14– 15. 2. 15
Exhibition / 1+2

EXTENDED UNTIL FEBRUARY 15, 2015

For Kate Cooper's first institutional exhibition RIGGED, this year's winner of the Schering Stiftung Art Award has produced a new work comprising of video and photographic production specifically for KW INSTITUTE FOR CONTEMPORARY ART.

Through an extensive use of CGI techniques commercial photography and post-production, the show RIGGED highlights the labor inherent in the creation of images, looking at the position the female body has occupied in the history of digital image technology. Through the creation and re-rendering of images of the body, Cooper asks how these digital figures might perform in our place made real as downloadable, ultra-realized bodies.

Cooper is interested in the fictional spaces of universally understood advertising images, tests our experience of them and relationship to them and thus openly questions our conceptions of gender and labor they collectively generate. RIGGED explores new possible connections between bodies and images, and presents tensions between presence and invisibility. As digital images become our body doubles – expensive yet unpaid figures performing on our behalf – the labor inherent in these modes of production becomes re-focused in an economy of withdrawal. Our own bodies use a strategy of refusal; and camouflage as a technique of survival.

As Cooper states: "In our post-representational world – where images are dislocated and free-floating across networks – how can we renegotiate an agency to images, imbue them with power, make them work for us?"

RIGGED displays the human being itself as a commercial good, the billboard-sized figures, installed throughout the space, focus on the body as a place for communicating ideas; re-coding and re-configuring new meanings. As the rendered images become disturbingly realistic, Cooper's doppelgangers surround the observer in their muted formations, and narrate their own illusionary potential, which is more permanent than flesh.

Curated by Ellen Blumenstein.

The exhibition Kate Cooper: RIGGED. Schering Stiftung Art Award is a collaboration between the Ernst Schering Foundation and KW Institute for Contemporary Art.

Kindly supported by the British Council.

Kate Cooper

RIGGED, 2014

Courtesy Kate Cooper

Kate Cooper
RIGGED
Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung
14. 9. 14– 15. 2. 15
Ausstellung / 1+2

VERLÄNGERT BIS 15. FEBRUAR 2015

Für ihre mit dem Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung verbundene erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung hat die diesjährige Preisträgerin Kate Cooper eine Reihe neuer Video- und Fotoarbeiten produziert, die sie in einem eigens für die KW INSTITUTE FOR CONTEMPORARY ART konzipierten Szenenbild präsentiert.

Durch den intensiven Gebrauch von CGI-Techniken, kommerzieller Fotografie und Postproduktion betont die Ausstellung RIGGED die Arbeit, die zur Gestaltung von Bildern aufgewandt werden muß. Sie untersucht die Position des weiblichen Körpers in der Geschichte der digitalen Bildtechnologien. Indem sie Bilder des Körpers schafft und neu wiedergibt, fragt Cooper, was diese digitalen Figuren als downloadfähige, überzeichnete Körper anstatt unserer selbst leisten.

Cooper interessiert sich für die fiktionalen Räume von Werbebildern, die sofort lesbar und in ihrer Botschaft universell sind, und überprüft deren Wirkung auf unser Erleben sowie unser Verhältnis zu ihnen. Dabei hinterfragt sie auch unsere Vorstellungen von Gender und Arbeit, die durch Werbung generiert werden. RIGGED erforscht neue Verbindungen zwischen Körpern und Bildern und veranschaulicht das Spannungsfeld zwischen Präsenz und Unsichtbarkeit. So, wie digitale Bilder zu unseren Doubles werden – teure aber unbezahlte Figuren, die in unserem Auftrag handeln – wird die Arbeit, die zu solchen Formen der Produktion gehört, neu als Akt des Rückzugs fokussiert. Unsere eigenen Körper bedienen sich einer Strategie der Verweigerung: Camouflage als Überlebenstechnik.

Cooper sagt: „Wie können wir, in unserer post-gegenständlichen Welt – in der Bilder keinen Ort haben und frei durch Netzwerke treiben – die Kraft von Bildern neu verhandeln, ihnen ihre Macht zurückgeben, sie dazu bringen, für uns zu arbeiten?"

RIGGED zeigt den Menschen selbst als Handelsware; die plakatgroßen Figuren die im ganzen Raum installiert sind, fokussieren den Körper als Ort, an dem Ideen kommuniziert werden: eine Neukodierung und Neukonfiguration von Bedeutungen. Während die computergenerierten Bilder verstörend realistisch werden, umgeben Coopers Doppelgänger die BetrachterInnen als stumme Formationen und entfalten ihr eigenes illusionäres Potenzial, das beständiger als menschliche Materie ist.

Kuratiert von Ellen Blumenstein.

Die Ausstellung Kate Cooper: RIGGED. Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung ist ein Kooperationsprojekt zwischen der Schering Stiftung und den KW Institute for Contemporary Art.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des British Council.

Kate Cooper

RIGGED, 2014

Courtesy Kate Cooper