Welcome to the Jungle
16. 9.– 15. 11. 15
Group exhibition / All venues

OPENING: Tuesday, 15.9.15, 18–22 h

In the mid-1980s, the rock band Guns N' Roses dedicated a song to the jungle that has since become iconic: WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE (1987) stages the seductive abyss of life in a big city. On the one hand sex, drugs, and violence guarantee an intensified version of life, more than everyday experiences can offer, but on the other they also have a highly destructive potential.

The thematic group exhibition at KW takes the song's title as an occasion for gathering Berlin-based and international artist positions that engage with fictions of such alternative places – in all their ambivalence. The concrete forms of such and their qualities evolve from differences between our realities of life, or react to the decisions we continuously make about how, where, and with whom we would like to live.

The jungle is a symptom which incorporates a common absence, our desires, but also our fears, that is out of our control.

It is the phantasm of a lost paradise; where life runs wild, where everything looks, sounds, smells, and tastes more intensely. Where nature dictates human rhythm, where people are thrown back to relying on their bodies and instincts, but are also liberated from the burden of leadership. The jungle is for becoming, not being – its stands in contrast to normalcy both in its positive and its negative. It is not fixed to any particular form and can be found in a tropical landscape, in the desert, around the corner, or in your own bed.

The works in the exhibition focus on things that would not be visible or perceptible under "normal" conditions, and which reveal the world of our ideas and our self-perceptions through visions of the "other" ex negativo.

WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE is KW's contribution to STADT/BILD (IMAGE OF A CITY), a collaboration between Berlinische Galerie, Deutsche Bank KunstHalle, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, and Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. The autumn of 2015 marks the second collaborative project between four of Berlin's leading art institutions and will present a total of four thematically related and coinciding exhibitions.

With works by Ute Adamczewski, Ulf Aminde, Awst & Walther, Nina Beier, Julius von Bismarck, Ulu Braun, Libia Castro & Ólafur Ólafsson, Danica Dakić, Loretta Fahrenholz, Heike Gallmeier, Sven Johne, Tobias Madison, Peter Piller, Jon Rafman, Ariel Reichman, Stephen G. Rhodes, Roman Schramm, Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton, Marianne Vlaschits, Klaus Weber, and Camilla Wills.

Contributed by Filipa Ramos: Melanie Bonajo, Olaf Breuning, Basim Magdy, and John Smith.

The accompanying film program is curated by Filipa Ramos:

Wednesday, 30.9.15, 18 h, in English, admission free
Phillip Warnell
Film screening and artist talk

Wednesday, 28.10.15, 18 h, in English, admission free
Film program with films by Cécile Fontaine, Éléonore Saintagnan and Grégoire Motte, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Cooper Battersby and Emily Vey Duke
With an introduction by Filipa Ramos

Guided tours

20.9.15, 16 h
1.10.15, 18 h
5.11., 18 h
In German, participation included in exhibition ticket, registration at
Walk-through the exhibition with Ellen Blumenstein, Chief Curator of KW

Every Thursday, 6 pm, admission included in Thursday evening ticket (18–21 h), no registration necessary

STADT/BILD (Image of a city) will open on the occasion of Berlin Art Week. It is initiated and funded by the Mayor of Berlin, Senate Chancellery – Cultural Affairs.


Libia Castro & Ólafur Ólafsson, DEIN LAND EXISTIERT NICHT, 2013 (from the ongoing campaign YOUR COUNTRY DOESN’T EXIST, since 2003), neon sign, 190 x 700 cm, Installation view, courtesy Libia Castro & Ólafur Ólafsson

WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE, Trailer by Ute Adamscewski

Marianne Vlaschits, MALIBU MOONRISE, 2012/2015, various material, dimensions variable, courtesy Marianne Vlaschits, installation view, detail, photo: Timo Ohler

WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE, exhibition view, photo Timo Ohler

Welcome to the Jungle
16. 9.– 15. 11. 15
Gruppenausstellung / Alle Orte

ERÖFFNUNG: Dienstag, 15.9.15, 18–22 h

Mitte der 1980er-Jahre widmete die Rockband Guns N' Roses dem Dschungel einen mittlerweile ikonischen Song: WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE (1987) inszeniert die verführerischen Abgründe des Großstadtlebens. Einerseits versprechen Sex, Drogen und Gewalt intensivere Erfahrungen, als der Alltag sie bieten kann, andererseits ist ihr zerstörerisches Potenzial groß.

Die thematische Ausstellung der KW nimmt den Songtitel zum Anlass, Berliner und internationale künstlerische Positionen zu versammeln, die sich – in aller Ambivalenz – mit Fiktionen solcher Gegenorte beschäftigen. Die konkrete Form eines solchen Ortes und dessen Qualitäten speisen sich aus der Differenz zu unserer Lebenswirklichkeit oder verhalten sich zu den regelmäßig neu zu treffenden Entscheidungen über das wie, wo und mit wem wir leben wollen.


Symptomatisch verkörpert der Dschungel dabei das, was uns fehlt und, wonach wir Sehnsucht empfinden, aber auch das, wovor wir Angst haben und, was außerhalb unserer Kontrolle liegt.

Er ist das Phantasma des verlorenen Paradieses; hier wuchert das Leben, blickt, hört, riecht, schmeckt alles intensiver. Hier bestimmt die Natur den Rhythmus des Menschen, der auf seinen Körper und seine Instinkte zurückgeworfen, aber auch von der Last der Herrschaft befreit ist. Der Dschungel ist Werden, nicht Sein – und in seinen positiven wie negativen Eigenschaften steht er konträr zur Normalität. Er ist an keine bestimmte Gestalt gebunden und kann als tropische Landschaft in Erscheinung treten, taucht aber genauso in der Wüste auf, um die nächste Straßenecke oder im eigenen Bett auf.

Die Werke in der Ausstellung fokussieren die Dinge, die unter „normalen" Bedingungen nicht sicht- und spürbar sind, und geben durch Visionen des „Anderen" ex negativo auch Aufschluss über die Welt unserer Vorstellungen und über unsere Selbstwahrnehmung.

WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE ist der Beitrag der KW zu STADT/BILD, einem Kooperationsprojekt von Berlinische Galerie, Deutsche Bank KunstHalle, KW Institute for Contemporary Art und Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. Zum zweiten Mal eröffnen im Herbst vier der führenden Berliner Institutionen gemeinsam und unter einem thematischen Dach ihre Ausstellungen.

Mit Arbeiten von Ute Adamczewski, Ulf Aminde, Awst & Walther, Nina Beier, Julius von Bismarck, Melanie Bonajo, Ulu Braun, Libia Castro & Ólafur Ólafsson, Danica Dakić, Loretta Fahrenholz, Heike Gallmeier, Sven Johne, Tobias Madison, Peter Piller, Jon Rafman, Ariel Reichman, Stephen G. Rhodes, Roman Schramm, Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton, Marianne Vlaschits, Klaus Weber und Camilla Wills.

Ausgewählt von Filipa Ramos: Melanie Bonajo, Olaf Breuning, Basim Magdy und John Smith.


Begleitendes Filmprogramm (kuratiert von Filipa Ramos):

Mittwoch, 30.9.15, 18 h, auf Englisch, Eintritt frei
Phillip Warnell
MING OF HARLEM: TWENTY ONE STOREYS IN THE AIR (2014)
Filmvorführung und Künstlergespräch

Mittwoch, 28.10.15, 18 h, auf Englisch, Eintritt frei
LES BÊTES SAUVAGES
Filmprogramm mit Filmen von Cécile Fontaine, Éléonore Saintagnan und Grégoire Motte, Apichatpong Weerasethakul sowie von Cooper Battersby und Emily Vey Duke.
Mit einer Einführung von Filipa Ramos


FÜHRUNGEN

KURATORENFÜHRUNG
20.9.15, 16 h
1.10.15, 18 h
5.11., 18 h
Auf deutsch, Teilnahme im Ausstellungsticket enthalten, Anmeldung unter
info@kw-berlin.de
Rundgang durch die Ausstellung mit Ellen Blumenstein, Chefkuratorin der KW

THEMATISCHE FÜHRUNGEN
Jeden Donnerstag, 18 h, Teilnahme im Donnerstagabend-Ticket (18–21 h) enthalten, keine Anmeldung nötig.


STADT/BILD wird eröffnet im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week. Initiiert und unterstützt vom Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin, Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.

Webseite STADT/BILD

Libia Castro & Ólafur Ólafsson, DEIN LAND EXISTIERT NICHT, 2013 (aus der laufenden Kampagne YOUR COUNTRY DOESN’T EXIST, seit 2003), Leuchtreklame, 190 x 700 cm, Installationsansicht, Courtesy Libia Castro & Ólafur Ólafsson

WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE, Trailer von Ute Adamscewski

Marianne Vlaschits, MALIBU MOONRISE, 2012/2015, verschiedene Materialien, Maße variabel, Courtesy Marianne Vlaschits, Installationsansicht, Detail, Foto: Timo Ohler

WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE, Ausstellungsansicht, Foto Timo Ohler