The Erotics of Infrastructure:
Seminar Part I

 

29 October 19, 10 am–7 pm
In English

 

Workshop with Ernest Ah, Rosa Aiello, Kathrin Bentele, Gerry Bibby, Rachal Bradley, Timothy Davies, Parr Wei Geng, and Laurie Rojas, as the first part of Rachal Bradley’s program series The Erotics of Infrastructure taking place from October 29–November 9, 2019 at KW.

 

<p>Courtesy Rachal Bradley</p>

Courtesy Rachal Bradley

 

The Erotics of Infrastructure is a series of workshops, readings, and talks conceived by artist Rachal Bradley (*1979 in Blackpool, GB) to constitute a discursive body. This proposes an erotics of infrastructure in the sense of Audre Lorde—primarily in, but also outside of the arts. If infrastructure can be understood as obliquely involved in processes of conditioning and regulation, the program examines where and how the idea of the erotic might serve as an approach to sustain and regain agency.

 

“The principal horror of any system which defines the good in terms of profit rather than in terms of human need, or which defines human need to the exclusion of the psychic and emotional components of that need – the principal horror of such a system is that it robs our work of its erotic value and life appeal and fulfilment.“
—In: Audre Lorde, Uses of the Erotic: The Erotic as Power (Kore Press, 2012)

 

Over the course of five events, the discourse evolving at KW will explore how the pleasurable, the charged, and the circuitous might recalibrate infrastructure from a non-neutral to a negotiable framework underlying our perception and our behavior in manifold ways. As such, it is suggested as highly inter-dependent with the people and things inhabiting it. The Erotics of Infrastructure is the second, Berlin-specific iteration of an ongoing program that began at Gasworks, London, in 2017.

 

This first event, organized as a one-day workshop, invites a closed group of artists, writers, curators, activists, employees of KW and theorists to present research material on and around infrastructure that will provide a basis of discussion for the following four public events. For the different contributors, this will take various forms; from artworks and moving image to the provision of utilities and models for social organization. Infrastructure is being addressed from positions and practices operating through and concerned with language, writing, art, architecture, technology, biology, ethics and social activism.

 

Rosa Aiello is an artist working with video, computer generated imagery and text, often looking at the way language, narrative devices, domestic architecture and other structural parameters are involved in processes of socialization.

 

Gerry Bibby is an artist and writer living in Berlin.

 

Timothy Davies’ art practice operates through inter-textual relations, matchmaking unprecedented conjugations between found and slightly modified objects, motifs and images. It does not so much present new information as point to the contingencies of what is seemingly “given”.

 

Parr Wei Geng is a biochemist-turned artist and researcher whose interests span from interspecies communication and synthetic biology to the uncanny cognitive dissonance caused by encounters between “Metis” and “Techne”.

 

Laurie Rojas is an art critic and Senior Editor at Spike Art Magazine, Berlin. Her writing has appeared in The Art Newspaper, Artsy, Artnet, Arts of the Working Class, Caesura, focusing, among others, on socially-engaged art, ambivalence in artworks, art criticism after its eclipse, and questions of social emancipation.

 

The Erotics of Infrastructure is curated by Kathrin Bentele as part of the exhibition The Making of Husbands: Christina Ramberg in Dialogue.

The Erotics of Infrastructure:
Seminar, 1. Teil

 

29. Oktober 19, 10–19 Uhr
In englischer Sprache

 

Workshop mit den eingeladenen Teilnehmer*innen Ernest Ah, Rosa Aiello, Kathrin Bentele, Gerry Bibby, Rachal Bradley, Timothy Davies, Parr Wei Geng und Laurie Rojas als ersten Teil von Rachal Bradleys Programmreihe The Erotics of Infrastructure, das vom 29. Oktober – 9. November 2019 in den KW stattfindet.

 

 

<p>Courtesy Rachal Bradley</p>

Courtesy Rachal Bradley

 

The Erotics of Infrastructure ist eine von der Künstlerin Rachal Bradley (*1979 in Blackpool, GB) gestaltete Programmreihe mit Workshops, Lesungen und Vorträgen, die vorschlägt, den Begriff der Infrastruktur – innerhalb der Kunst insbesondere, aber auch anderswo – unter dem Gesichtspunkt einer „Erotik“ im Sinne Audre Lordes zu diskutieren und dafür eine Diskussionsbasis erarbeitet. Wenn man Infrastruktur als oft ungreifbare Mitproduzentin von Konditionierungs- und Regelungsprozessen versteht, so wollen die einzelnen Formate ausloten, wo und wie sich das Erotische als Handlungs-ansatz anbietet, um innerhalb solcher Prozesse Handlungsfähigkeit aufrechtzuerhalten und wiederzuerlangen.

 

“The principal horror of any system which defines the good in terms of profit rather than in terms of human need, or which defines human need to the exclusion of the psychic and emotional components of that need – the principal horror of such a system is that it robs our work of its erotic value and life appeal and fulfilment.“
– In: Audre Lorde, Uses of the Erotic: The Erotic as Power (Kore Press, 2012)

 

Der diskursive Körper, der sich im Laufe der fünf Veranstaltungen entwickelt, stellt die Frage, inwiefern Lustbesetztes, diskursiv Belastetes oder allgegenwärtig Zirkulierendes unser Verständnis von Infrastruktur repositionieren kann; von einem neutralen zu einem verhandelbaren Rahmen, der unsere Wahrnehmung und unser Verhalten grundlegend konditioniert. Die Programmreihe schlägt vor, Infrastruktur in wechselseitiger Abhängigkeit mit den Menschen und den Dingen zu verstehen, die sie bewohnen. The Erotics of Infrastructure ist die Berlin-spezifische Weiterentwicklung eines fortlaufenden Projekts, das 2017 bei Gasworks in London begann.

 

Die erste Veranstaltung, organisiert als eintägiger Workshop, lädt Künstler*innen, Schreiber*innen, Kurator*innen, Aktivist*innen, Theoretiker*innen und Angestellte der KW ein, verschiedenes Recherchematerial zum Begriff der Infrastruktur zu präsentieren, um eine Diskussionsbasis für die folgenden vier öffentlichen Veranstaltungen zu schaffen. Abhängig von der Person nehmen die Beiträge unterschiedliche Formen an – von Kunstwerken, Filmen, über die Bereitstellung von Betriebsmitteln bis zu Modellen für soziale Organisation. Infrastruktur wird dabei aus unterschiedlichen Sichtweisen beleuchtet; in Bezug auf Sprache, Schreiben, Kunst, Architektur, Technologie, Biologie, Ethik oder sozialem Aktivismus.

 

Rosa Aiello ist eine mit Video, computergeneriertem Bildmaterial und Text arbeitende Künstlerin, die u.a. untersucht, wie Sprache, narrative Mittel, häusliche Architektur und andere strukturelle Parameter Sozialisierungsprozesse mitproduzieren.

 

Gerry Bibby ist Künstler und Autor und lebt in Berlin.

 

Timothy Davies’ künstlerische Praxis arbeitet mit intertextuellen Bezügen, Verkupplungen von beispiellosen Verbindungen und leicht modifizierten Objekten, Motiven und Bildern. Mehr als wirklich neue „Information“ zu produzieren, richtet Davies sein Augenmerk auf die Beliebigkeit dessen, was uns als gegeben scheint.

 

Parr Wei Geng ist eine von der Biochemikerin zur Künstlerin gewandelte Forscherin, deren Interessen von artübergreifender Kommunikation und synthetischer Biologie bis zu den unheimlichen kognitiven Dissonanzen reichen, die durch das Aufeinanderprallen von „Metis“ und „Techne“ entstehen.

 

Laurie Rojas ist Kunstkritikerin und Senior Editor bei Spike Art Magazine in Berlin. Frühere Texte sind erschienen bei The Art Newspaper; Artsy; Artnet; Arts of the Working Class; Caesura; Rojas beschäftigt sich u.a. mit sozial engagierter Kunst, der Ambivalenz von Kunstwerken, Kunstkritik nach ihrem (mutmaßlichen) Ende und sozialer Emanzipation.

 

The Erotics of Infrastructure wird von Kathrin Bentele kuratiert und ist Teil der Ausstellung The Making of Husbands: Christina Ramberg in Dialogue.